Skip to content

Schumer, McConnell, Johnson, Jeffries, Murray, Collins, Granger, DeLauro Joint Statement On FY24 Appropriations Agreement

Washington, D.C. – Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Speaker Mike Johnson (R-LA), and Leader Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) along with Senate Appropriations Committee Chair Patty Murray (D-WA) and Vice Chair Susan Collins (R-ME) and House Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Kay Granger (R-TX) and Ranking Member Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) released the following statement:

“We are in agreement that Congress must work in a bipartisan manner to fund our government. 

“Negotiators have come to an agreement on six bills: Agriculture-FDA, Commerce-Justice and Science, Energy and Water Development, Interior, Military Construction-VA, and Transportation-HUD. After preparing final text, this package of six full year Appropriations bills will be voted on and enacted prior to March 8. These bills will adhere to the Fiscal Responsibility Act discretionary spending limits and January’s topline spending agreement.

“The remaining six Appropriations bills – Defense, Financial Services and General Government, Homeland Security, Labor-HHS, Legislative Branch, and State and Foreign Operations - will be finalized, voted on, and enacted prior to March 22.

“To give the House and Senate Appropriations Committee adequate time to execute on this deal in principle, including drafting, preparing report language, scoring and other technical matters, and to allow members 72 hours to review, a short-term continuing resolution to fund agencies through March 8 and the 22 will be necessary, and voted on by the House and Senate this week.”