June 18, 2020 07:26 PM

Wrap Up for Thursday, June 18, 2020

Roll Call Votes
1.      Confirmation of Executive Calendar #710, Justin Reed Walker, of Kentucky, to be United States Circuit Judge for the District of Columbia Circuit; confirmed: 51-42.
Legislative Business
Adopted S.Res.502, recognizes the 75th anniversary of the amphibious landing on the Japanese island of Iwo Jima that began on February 19, 1945, and ended on March 26, 1945, and encourages the people of the United States to honor the veterans of the Battle of Iwo Jima with appropriate programs, ceremonies, and activities.
Adopted S.Res.616, designating June 12, 2020, as “Women Veterans Appreciation Day.”
Adopted S.Res.623, commemorating Otto Frederick Warmbier and condemning the North Korean regime for their continued human rights abuses.
Adopted S.Res.630, designating June 20, 2020, as “American Eagle Day” and celebrating the recovery and restoration of the bald eagle, the national symbol of the United States.
Adopted S.Res.631, honoring the life and service of David Dorn and expressing condolences to the family of David Dorn.
Executive Business
By voice vote, the Senate confirmed the following nominations:
Executive Calendar #702 - Sethuraman Panchanathan, of Arizona, to be Director of the National Science Foundation for a term of six years
Executive Calendar # 642 - Peter M. McCoy, Jr., of South Carolina, to be United States Attorney for the District of South Carolina for the term of four years
Executive Calendar #651 – Vincent F. DeMarco, of New York, to be United States Marshal for the Eastern District of New York
Executive Calendar #713 - William Zollars, of Kansas, to be a Governor of the United States Postal Service for a term expiring December 8, 2022, vice James H. Bilbray, term expired.
Executive Calendar #716 - Donald Lee Moak, of Florida, to be a Governor of the United States Postal Service for a term expiring December 8, 2022, vice Alan C. Kessler, term expired.