Skip to content

Wrap Up for Thursday, February 28, 2019

Roll Call Votes

1)      On confirmation of Executive Calendar #10, the nomination of Andrew Wheeler, of Virginia, to be Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency: confirmed 52-47.


Legislative Business

Concurred in the House amendment to S.483, PRIA

Adopted the following resolutions:

S.Res.43, honoring the 150th anniversary of the establishment of Lindsborg, Kansas.

S.Res.86, providing for members on the part of the Senate of the Joint Committee on Printing and the Joint Committee of Congress on the Library.

S.Res.87, authorizing the printing of a collection of the rules of the committees of the Senate.

S.Res.88, designating March 1, 2019, as “Read Across America Day”.

S.Res.89, expressing the condolences of the Senate and honoring the memory of the victims of the mass shooting in Aurora, Illinois on February 15, 2019.

S.Res.90, designating February 28 2019, as “Rare Disease Day”.


Agreed to S. Con. Res.6, authorizing the printing of a commemorative document in memory of the late President of the United States George Herbert Walker Bush.

Agreed to S.Con.Res.7, authorizing the printing of the 26th edition of the pocket version of the Constitution of the United States.


Began the Rule 14 process to place the following items on the Legislative Calendar of Business:

1)      S.617, Tax Extender and Disaster Relief Act of 2019 (Grassley/Wyden)

2)      H.R.8, Bipartisan Background Checks Act of 2019


Executive Business

By voice vote, confirmed Executive Calendar #12, the nomination of John L. Ryder, of Tennessee, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority.


Confirmed the following nominations:


Exec. Cal. #81 – Lt. Gen. Michael X. Garrett to be General

Exec. Cal. #82 - Col. Timothy J. Donnellan to be Brigadier General

Exec. Cal. #83 - Col. Stephen J. Mallette to be Brigadier General



Exec. Cal. #84 – The following to be Rear Admiral (Lower Half):

Capt. Scott M. Brown

Capt. Casey J. Moton

Capt. Stephen R. Tedford

Capt. Eric H. Verhage

Exec. Cal. #85 – The following to be Rear Admiral (Lower Half):

Capt. Jeffrey T. Anderson

Capt. Stephen D. Barnett

Capt. Michael W. Baze

Capt. Richard T. Brophy, Jr.

Capt. Anthony C. Carullo

Capt. Robert B. Chadwick, II

Capt. Jeffrey J. Czerewko

Capt. Michael P. Donnelly

Capt. Christopher M. Engdahl

Capt. Robert M. Gaucher

Capt. Daniel P. Martin

Capt. John V. Menoni

Capt. Curt A. Renshaw

Capt. Scott F. Robertson

Capt. Milton J. Sands, III

Capt. Paul C. Spedero, Jr.

Capt. Christopher J. Sweeney

Capt. Jeromy B. Williams



Exec. Cal. #86 – Lt. Gen. VeraLinn Jamieson to be Lieutenant General


And all nominations on the Secretary’s Desk in the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, and Navy.