Skip to content

Senate Floor Wrap Up for Saturday, December 17, 2011


1)      Reid-McConnell substitute amendment #1465 (2-month extension of the payroll tax deduction, doc fix, and unemployment insurance) to H.R.3630; Agreed to: 89-10

2)      Passage of H.R.3672, emergency disaster funding; Passed: 72-27

3)      Adoption of H.Con.Res.94, a correcting resolution to provide offsets for the emergency disaster funding; Not Adopted: 43-56

4)      Adoption of the conference report to accompany H.R.2055, Omnibus Appropriations; Adopted: 67-32



Passed H.R.3630, a bill to extend the payroll tax holiday, unemployment compensation, Medicare physician payment, provide for the consideration of the Keystone XL pipeline, as amended.

Adopted S.Res.349, commemorating and honoring the service and sacrifice of members of the United States Armed Forces and their families as the official combat mission in Iraq draws to a close by voice vote.

Adopted H.J.Res.96, a 6-day continuing resolution.

Concurred in the House message to accompany S.278, the Sugar Loaf Fire Protection District Land Exchange Act of 2011.

Discharged the Banking Committee and Passed S.1874, the HUBZone Qualified Census Tract Act of 2011.

Discharged the Foreign Relations Committee and Passed S.1959, to require a report on the designation of the Haqqani Network as a foreign terrorist organization and for other purposes with a Burr amendment.

Discharged the EPW Committee and Passed S.1710, a bill to designate the United States courthouse located at 222 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, Alaska, as the James M. Fitzgerald United States Courthouse.

Passed H.R.1264, To designate the property between the United States Federal Courthouse and the Ed Jones Building located at 109 South Highland Avenue in Jackson, Tennessee, as the "M.D. Anderson Plaza" and to authorize the placement of a historical/identification marker on the grounds recognizing the achievements and philanthropy of  M.D. Anderson.

Passed Calendar #258, H.R.789, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 20 Main Street in Little Ferry, New Jersey, as the "Sergeant Matthew J. Fenton Post Office".

Passed Calendar #259, H.R.2422, to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 45 Bay Street, Suite 2, in Staten Island, New York, as the "Sergeant Angel Mendez Post Office".

Adopted S.Res.351, Recognizing the 40th anniversary of the enactment of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.

Began the Rule 14 process of H.R.440, To provide for the establishment of the Special Envoy to Promote Religious Freedom of Religious Minorities in the Near East and South Central Asia.

Began the Rule 14 process of H.R.3012, the Fairness for High-Skilled Immigrants Act of 2011.


Confirmed the following:


#421 Joyce A. Barr - to be Assistant Secretary of State (Administration)


#503 Michael Anthony McFaul - to be Ambassador of the US of America to the Russian Federation.


#529 Brad Carson - to be General Counsel of the Department of the Army

#530 Michael A. Sheehan - to be an Assistant Secretary of Defense


#531 to be Brigadier General - Col. Merle D. Hart

#532 to be Lieutenant General - Lt. Gen. Frank Gorenc

#533 to be Brigadier General - Col. Brian E. Dominguez

#534 to be Brigadier General - Col. John P. Currenti

#535 to be Brigadier General -

Colonel John D. Bansemer

Colonel David B. Been

Colonel Michael T. Brewer

Colonel Thomas A. Bussiere

Colonel Clinton E. Crosier

Colonel Albert M. Elton, II

Colonel Michael A. Fantini

Colonel Timothy G. Fay

Colonel Edward A. Fienga

Colonel Steven D. Garland

Colonel Thomas W. Geary

Colonel Cedric D. George

Colonel Blaine D. Holt

Colonel Scott A. Howell

Colonel Ronald L. Huntley

Colonel Allen J. Jamerson

Colonel James C. Johnson

Colonel Mark D. Kelly

Colonel Scott A. Kindsvater

Colonel Donald E. Kirkland

Colonel Bruce H. McClintock

Colonel Martha A. Meeker

Colonel John E. Michel

Colonel Charles L. Moore, Jr.

Colonel Gregory S. Otey

Colonel John T. Quintas

Colonel Michael D. Rothstein

Colonel Kevin B. Schneider

Colonel Scott F. Smith

Colonel Ferdinand B. Stoss

Colonel Jacqueline D. Van Ovost

Colonel James C. Vechery

Colonel Christopher P. Weggeman

Colonel Kevin B. Wooton

Colonel Sarah E. Zabel


#536 to be Major General - Brig. Gen. Michael J. Lally, III

#537 to be Brigadier General -

Colonel John W. Baker

Colonel Margaret W. Burcham

Colonel Richard D. Clarke, Jr.

Colonel Roger L. Cloutier, Jr.

Colonel Timothy R. Coffin

Colonel Peggy C. Combs

Colonel Bruce T. Crawford

Colonel Jason T. Evans

Colonel Stephen E. Farmen

Colonel John G. Ferrari

Colonel Kimberly Field

Colonel Duane A. Gamble

Colonel Ryan F. Gonsalves

Colonel Wayne W. Grigsby, Jr.

Colonel Steven R. Grove

Colonel William B. Hickman

Colonel Christopher P. Hughes

Colonel Daniel P. Hughes

Colonel Daniel L. Karbler

Colonel Ronald F. Lewis

Colonel James B. Linder

Colonel Michael D. Lundy

Colonel David K. MacEwen

Colonel Todd B. McCaffrey

Colonel Paul M. Nakasone

Colonel Paul A. Ostrowski

Colonel Laura J. Richardson

Colonel Steven A. Shapiro

Colonel James E. Simpson

Colonel Mark R. Stammer

Colonel Michael C. Wehr

Colonel Eric P. Wendt

#538 to be Major General - Brig. Gen. Lynn A. Collyar

#539 to be Lieutenant General - Maj. Gen. Mary A. Legere

#540 to be Major General - Col. Jimmie O. Keenan

All nominations on the Secretary's desk

All nominations received by the Senate during the 112th Congress, first session, will remain in status quo, notwithstanding the provisions of rule XXXI, paragraph 6, of the Standing Rules of the Senate, with the following exceptions:

Cal. #43 Caitlin Joan Halligan, to be US Circuit Judge for the District of Columbia

Cal. # 67 Philip E. Coyle, III, to be an Associate Director Office of Science and Technology Policy

Cal. #112 William J. Boarman - to be Public Printer

Cal. #185 Michael Green US District Judge for the Western District of New York

Cal. #413 Richard Cordray - to be Director, Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection

PN2 Victoria Frances Nourse, of Wisconsin, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Seventh Circuit

PN14 Louis B. Butler, Jr., of Wisconsin, to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Wisconsin

PN95 V. Natasha Perdew Silas, of Georgia, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Georgia

PN96-112 Linda T. Walker, of Georgia, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Georgia

PN158 Arvo Mikkanen, of Oklahoma, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma

PN317 Steve Six, of Kansas, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Tenth Circuit

PN653 Rebecca R. Wodder, of Virginia, to be Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife