May 21, 2015 08:22 PM

Wrap Up for Thursday, May 21, 2015

Roll Call Votes
  1. Motion to invoke cloture on Hatch amendment #1221(substitute); invoked: 62-38.
  2. Confirmation of Executive Calendar #25, Jill Parish, of Utah, to be U.S. District Judge for the Utah; confirmed: 100-0.
  3. Confirmation of Executive Calendar #26, Jose Rolando Olvera, Jr. Of Texas, to be U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of Texas; confirmed: 100-0.

Legislative Business

Completed the Rule 14 process to place on the Legislative Calendar of Business H.R.2353, Highway.

Passed H.R.1690 - Joseph F. Weis, Jr. United States Courthouse (Pittsburg, Pennsylvania)

Passed Calendar #64, S.261 - William J. Holloway, Jr. United States Courthouse (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

Passed Calendar #65, S.612 - George P. Kazen Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse (Laredo, Texas)

Passed Calendar #81, S.501 - Navajo Water Rights

Adopted S.Res.168 - National Foster Care Month

Adopted S.Res.109 - acknowledging and honoring brave young men from Hawaii  who enabled the United States to establish and maintain jurisdiction in remote equatorial islands as prolonged conflict in the Pacific led to World War II.

Adopted the following resolutions, en bloc:

S.Res.185 - Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month

S.Res.186 - Public Works Week

S.Res.187 - Bladder Cancer Awareness Month

Confirmed the following nominations by voice votes:

  1. Executive Calendar #74, Patricia Cahill, of Missouri, to be Member of the Board of Directors of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting
  2. Executive Calendar#107, Mark Scarano, of New Hampshire, to be Federal Chairperson of the Northern Border Regional Commission

Executive Business

Confirmed the following nominations by unanimous consent:


#115 To be Rear Admiral

Rear Adm. (lh) John D. Alexander

Rear Adm. (lh) Ronald A. Boxall

Rear Adm. (lh) Robert P. Burke

Rear Adm. (lh) Matthew J. Carter

Rear Adm. (lh) Christopher W. Grady

Rear Adm. (lh) Michael E. Jabaley, Jr.

Rear Adm. (lh) Colin J. Kilrain

Rear Adm. (lh) Andrew L. Lewis

Rear Adm. (lh) DeWolfe H. Miller

Rear Adm. (lh) John P. Neagley

Rear Adm. (lh) Patrick A. Piercey

Rear Adm. (lh) Charles A. Richard

Rear Adm. (lh) Hugh D. Wetherald

Rear Adm. (lh) Ricky L. Williamson

#116  To be Rear Admiral (Lower Half)

Capt. Eugene H. Black, III

Capt. Dell D. Bull

Capt. William D. Byrne, Jr.

Capt. Edward B. Cashman

Capt. Moises Deltoro, III

Capt. Stephen C. Evans

Capt. Gregory J. Fenton

Capt. John V. Fuller

Capt. Michael P. Holland

Capt. Hugh W. Howard, III

Capt. Jeffrey W. Hughes

Capt. Thomas E. Ishee

Capt. Stephen T. Koehler

Capt. Yancy B. Lindsey

Capt. Francis D. Morley

Capt. Cathal S. O'Connor

Capt. Jeffrey E. Trussler

Capt. William W. Wheeler, III


#117 Maj. Gen. Jeffrey G. Lofgren - to be Lieutenant General


#118 Maj. Gen. Michael G. Dana - to be Lieutenant General


#119 Brig. Gen. Matthew P. Beevers - to be Major General


#120 Rear Adm. John N. Christenson - to be Vice Admiral

#121 Capt. Shoshana S. Chatfield - to be Rear Admiral (lower half)

#122 Rear Adm. James W. Crawford, III - to be Vice Admiral

All nominations placed on the Secretary's Desk in the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, and Navy.