Senate Democratic Diversity Initiative Internship Opportunities

Throughout the year, various national organizations offer paid Hill internships to current, diverse college students and recent graduates. Below are links to organizations that offer such internship programs for talented young professionals and budding public servants. If you are eager to work on Capitol Hill, please use the contact information to learn more information about the organizations and the specifics of their internship and fellowship opportunities. 

Please contact us if you have any questions or if we can be of assistance in facilitating a conversation between you and any of these organizations. 

Organization/ Institution

Contact Information

Target Population

Opportunity

American Political Science Association

Kara Abramson, Director of Congressional Fellowship Program

kabramson@apsanet.org

202-483-2512

Ph.D. graduates

Fellowship: Nov – Jul

Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund (SALDEF)

Sharan Singh, Program Manager

sharan@saldef.org

202-393-2700

Sikh American students

Summer

Minority Access Inc.

Mason Monroe, Internship Program Director

Mmonroe@minorityaccess.org

301-779-7100

African American or Black 

Spring

Summer

Fall

University of California Washington Program (UCDC)

Chantal Quintero, Senior Program Administrator

chantal.quintero@ucdc.edu

202-974-6381

Diverse students participating from the nine UC campuses

Quarter: Fall, Winter, Spring Summer

Semester: Fall, Spring, Summer

(In-Person)

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute- Congressional Internship Program & Public Policy and Graduate Fellowship Program

Fellowship Program:

Pamela Sanchez, Fellowship Programs Manager

psanchez@chci.org

Internship Program:

Dennis Gonzalez

Director, Leadership Programs

dgonzalez@chci.org

202-548-8789 

Latino

Spring

Summer

Fall

Fellows: Aug - May

APAICS (Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies)                 

Danielle Moon, Director of Programs and Community Engagement

danielle@apaics.org

315-751-1732

Asian American, Pacific Islander

Fellowship (9 months): Sept-May

Internship (8 weeks): Summer, Fall, Spring

 

Broad Futures      

 

Carolyn Jeppsen, CEO/Founder

cjeppsen@broadfutures.org

202-521-4312

People with learning disabilities

Summer

AAPD (American Association for People with Disabilities)

Christine Liao, Programs Manager

internships@www.aapd.com

202-521-4316

People with disabilities

 Summer

Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

 

Akaliah Jenkins Mcintyre

Director, Leadership Institute

ajenkinsmcintyre@cbcfinc.org

202-263-2800

African American or Black

Spring

Summer

Fellows: Summer

Muslim Public Affairs Council

 

Rebecca Husaini, Operations Manager

rebecca@mpac.org

818-749-5321

Rummi Khan, Chief Operating Officer

Rummi@mpac.org

202-547-7701 

Muslim students

 Summer

College to Congress 

Kelly Villwock, Program Director

kelly@collegetocongress.org

803-318-4384

Marah Qasem

Mara@collegetocongress.org

(202) 792-6830

Pell-Grant Eligible Students

Spring

Summer

Fall Internships (Starting Fall 2022)

Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute (Foster Youth Internship Program)

 

Taylor Draddy, Senior Director of Policy

taylor@ccainstitute.org

202-544-8500

Young adults who spent time in the foster care system

Summer  

RespectAbility

 

Ben Spangenberg, National Leadership Program Director

BenS@RespectAbility.org

202-517-6272

People with disabilities

Spring

Summer

Fall

The Washington Center

Danielle Samsingh, Manager Business Development

Danielle.samsingh@twc.edu

202-239-7978

College Students

Spring

Summer

Fall

Hindu American Foundation

Taniel Koushakjian, Director of Public Policy

taniel@hinduamerican.org

202-223-8222

Hindu Americans

Summer

The George Washington University, Native American Political Leadership Program

Mackenzie Neal, Program Associate

mackenzieneal@gwu.edu

804-386-4421

Native Americans 

Spring

Summer

Gallaudet University

Monica Garvin,

Employer Relations Specialist

monica.garvin@gallaudet.edu

Deaf and Hard of Hearing (HOH)

Fall

Spring

Summer

National HEP/CAMP Association

Patrick Doone, HEP/CAMP Director, Center for Migrant Education/Internship Coordinator

doone@usf.edu

813-974-0915 

Students from migratory and seasonal farm-working backgrounds

Summer