Schumer Statement On Biden Naming Key Environment, Energy, And Conservation Officials

December 17, 2020

Washington, D.C. — Senate Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) today issued the following statement on President-elect Joe Biden’s announcement naming key members of his environment, energy, and conservation team: 

“President-elect Biden’s announcement of key Cabinet and senior administration officials overseeing environment, energy, and conservation work instills confidence in the incoming administration’s ability to tackle some of the most urgent issues we face.  These immensely qualified individuals bring a wealth of experience to their prospective roles and will be a stark contrast to the unqualified polluter-friendly, and fossil fuel-influenced Trump Cabinet. I look forward to working with them to pass a bold climate and clean-energy agenda, and to restore wise stewardship of our public lands, particularly as we work to meet our responsibilities to Tribes.

With the coronavirus pandemic creating the worst health and economic crises we’ve seen in generations, we have a responsibility to rebuild a sustainable future that puts the needs of hardest hit communities first. President-elect Biden has made historic choices in nominating Congresswoman Deb Haaland, Michael Regan, and Brenda Mallory – the first Native American to serve in the Cabinet, the first African American man to serve as EPA administrator, and first African American Chair of CEQ. Along with Jennifer Granholm, only the second woman to serve as Energy Secretary, the incoming administration’s choices for leadership at these agencies demonstrate that the principles of environmental justice will drive their efforts to ameliorate the steep human and economic costs of a worsening climate crisis and guide the just transition to a low-carbon economy that works for everyone.”

President-elect Joe Biden’s nominees and appointments:

•            Congresswoman Deb Haaland, Secretary of the Interior

•            Jennifer Granholm, Secretary of Energy

•            Michael Regan, Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

•            Brenda Mallory, Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality

•            Gina McCarthy, White House National Climate Advisor

•            Ali Zaidi, Deputy White House National Climate Advisor