

March 11, 2020

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump:

We urge you to consult with Governors and immediately consider any Disaster Declaration requests pursuant to the Stafford Act for states preparing for and responding to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak. As the number of confirmed cases increases across the United States, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) should utilize the \$42.643 billion currently available in the Disaster Relief Fund (DRF) to assist state and local governments in their efforts to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 and protect public health. This would not be an unprecedented action, President Clinton issued an Emergency Declaration under the Stafford Act in 2000 for New York and New Jersey and utilized this authority to pay for mosquito abatement. COVID-19 must be addressed swiftly and effectively, with all federal resources made available to impacted communities and tribes.

The DRF is the primary source of funding for the federal government's general disaster relief program. According to the March 6, 2020 Disaster Relief Fund: Monthly Report - Fiscal Year 2020 Report to Congress, the DRF has a balance of \$42.643 billion as of February 29, 2020. Under FEMA's administration, the DRF funds three relevant types of activities for the COVID-19 outbreak. The first are predeclaration surge activities, such as deploying response teams and prepositioning equipment. Second, the DRF funds Disaster Readiness and Support (DRS) activities which include all ongoing, non-incident specific FEMA actions. Finally, the DRF also funds Disaster Declaration activities. While a Disaster Declaration must be requested by a governor, if granted, it would allow FEMA to provide emergency protective measures to the state at a 75% federal to 25% state cost share for eligible expenses and activities. According to FEMA's Public Assistance Program and Policy Guide v3.1, these eligible expenses include: medically necessary tests and diagnosis; treatment, stabilization, and monitoring; a one-time 30day supply of prescriptions for acute conditions or to replace maintenance prescriptions; vaccinations for survivors and emergency workers to prevent outbreaks of infectious and communicable diseases; durable medical equipment; consumable medical supplies; temporary facilities, such as tents or portable buildings for treatment of survivors; leased or purchased equipment for use in temporary medical care facilities; security for temporary medical care facilities; use of ambulances for distributing immunizations and setting up mobile medical units; and dissemination of information to the public to provide warnings and guidance about health and safety hazards using various strategies, such as flyers, public service announcements, or newspaper campaigns. Under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act), the President is authorized to grant a Disaster

Declaration for any occasion when federal assistance is needed, and clearly the COVID-19 outbreak demands a swift and adequately resourced federal response.

As of March 10, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported 647 confirmed COVID-19 cases and 25 deaths across 36 states. While the immediate health risk to the majority of the American public is thought to remain low, the challenges of community spread have already begun to strain state and local government responses, particularly health departments. State and local officials are working hard to mitigate the outbreak and protect Americans and ongoing federal resources are badly needed to support those efforts.

It is crucial that your administration employ a whole-of-government approach in responding to COVID-19. This includes working closely with state, local, and tribal officials and providing necessary resources to those on the frontlines. We strongly urge FEMA to stand ready to provide emergency protective measures to prevent and mitigate the spread of disease, save lives, and protect public health and safety, should any state request assistance.

Sincerely,

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

United States Senator

Patty Murray

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal

United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator	Cory A. Booker United States Senator
Maria Cantwell United States Senator	Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator
Jacky Rosen United States Senator	Brian Schatz United States Senator
Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator	Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator
Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator	Tim Kaine United States Senator
Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator	Elizabeth Warren United States Senator
Dianne Feinstein United States Senator	Ron Wyden United States Senator
Jack Reed United States Senator	Patrick Leahy United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley

Kyrsten Sinema

United States Senator

CC:

The Honorable Mike Pence, Vice President of the United States of America The Honorable Peter Gaynor, Administrator of the US Federal Emergency Management Agency The Honorable Chad Wolf, Acting Secretary of the US Department of Homeland Security The Honorable Alex Azar, Secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services Governor of Alabama, Kay Ivey

Governor of Alaska, Mike Dunleavy

Governor of American Samoa, Lolo Matalasi Moliga

Governor of Arizona, Doug Ducey

Governor of Arkansas, Asa Hutchinson

Governor of California, Gavin Newsom

Governor of Colorado, Jared Polis

Governor of Connecticut, Ned Lamont

Governor of Delaware, John C. Carney Jr.

Governor of Florida, Ron DeSantis

Governor of Georgia, Brian Kemp

Governor of Guam, Lou Leon Guerrero

Governor of Hawaii, David Ige

Governor of Idaho, Brad Little

Governor of Illinois, J.B. Pritzker

Governor of Indiana, Eric Holcomb

Governor of Iowa, Kim Reynolds

Governor of Kansas, Laura Kelly

Governor of Kentucky, Andy Beshear

Governor of Louisiana, John Bel Edwards

Governor of Maine, Janet T. Mills

Governor of Maryland, Larry Hogan

Governor of Massachusetts, Charles D. Baker

Governor of Michigan, Gretchen Whitmer

Governor of Minnesota, Tim Walz

Governor of Mississippi, Tate Reeves

Governor of Missouri, Mike Parson

Governor of Montana, Steve Bullock

Governor of Nebraska, Pete Ricketts

Governor of Nevada, Steve Sisolak

Governor of New Hampshire, Chris Sununu

Governor of New Jersey, Phil Murphy

Governor of New Mexico, Michelle Lujan Grisham

Governor of New York, Andrew Cuomo

Governor of North Carolina, Roy Cooper

Governor of North Dakota, Doug Burgum

Governor of Ohio, Richard Michael DeWine

Governor of Oklahoma, Kevin Stitt

Governor of Oregon, Kate Brown

Governor of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf

Governor of Rhode Island, Gina Raimondo

Governor of South Carolina, Henry McMaster

Governor of South Dakota, Kristi L. Noem

Governor of Tennessee, Bill Lee

Governor of Texas, Greg Abbott

Governor of the Northern Mariana Islands, Ralph Torres

Governor of the U.S. Virgin Islands, Albert Bryan

Governor of Utah, Gary Herbert

Governor of Vermont, Phil Scott

Governor of Virginia, Ralph Northam

Governor of Washington, Jay Inslee

Governor of West Virginia, Jim Justice

Governor of Wisconsin, Tony Evers

Governor of Wyoming, Mark Gordon